Design Competition Announced For Innovative Bus of the Future

WestStart and 17 Bus Rapid Transit communities sponsor competition worth $100,000 in monetary and non-monetary awards.

Published: 04-Dec-2000

WestStart, and seventeen "Bus Rapid Transit" (BRT) communities throughout the United States are announcing a national design competition for the bus of the future. The BRT communities consortium was formed by the Federal Transit Administration to encourage new ways of moving people faster and more efficiently with rapid transit. Multi-disciplinary teams are encouraged to enter the competition, which has monetary and non-monetary awards totaling $100,000. The competition runs from mid-January until mid-May 2001.

A distinguished jury is being formed to review and premiate the entries. Confirmed jurors to date are: Martha Welborne, Project Director of the Surface Transit Project, an effort focused on exploring affordable alternatives to serve the mass transit needs of Los Angeles residents; Han Rat, Secretary General of the Union International of Public Transport (UITP), a major European transit organization; world-renowned industrial designer, Tucker Viemeister; and William Millar, President of the American Public Transportation Association.

Teams are forming and registration is now open.

Please log on to the following web address to get detailed information. or contact Fred Silver at mailto:

Views :1286



blog comments powered by Disqus